ward committees of MBMC
Civics Latest News

Retained Power: BJP hoist its flag on all ward committees of MBMC

All the six ward committees post of Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) won by Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday. The election was held through the video conferencing. Of these, BJP’s Raksha Bhupathani fielded from Ward Committee 2 and Sachin Mhatre fielded from Ward Committee 6 have been elected unopposed as no party has fielded its candidates here. The BJP has a majority in the other four other committees also.

BJP has one-sided power over MBMC and while maintaining its dominance, BJP has hoisted its flag on all the ward committees. The term of the chairman of the ward committees of the corporation came to an end on 31st March. However, the election delayed due to the coronavirus outbreak. Mumbai Suburban District Collector Milind Borikar has looked the overall work as the Returning Officer for the election. The election was held through video conferencing between 11 am to 5 pm.

Who won where?

Raksha Satish Bhupthani from the Ward No. 2 and Sachin Kesrinath Mhatre from Ward No. 6 have been elected unopposed.

At Ward Committee No. 1, there was a direct fight between BJP’s Vaishali Rakvi and Shiv Sena’s Helen George Govind. However, Rakvi won due to the majority of votes in her favour. In Ward Committee No. 3, the contest was between BJP’s Meena Kangane and Shiv Sena’s Archana Arun Kadam. Here also, Kangane declared a clear winner due to the majority of BJP’s corporators.

In Ward Committee No. 4, BJP’s Daulat Gajre and Congress’ Geeta Pardeshi have fought the election. Gajre, who comes from the reserved quota, was one of the potential mayoral candidates in February election. He satisfied himself with the Ward Committee Chairman.  In Ward Committee No. 5, the direct battle was between BJP’s Hetal Parmar and Congress’ Sheikh Ashraf Mohammad Ibrahim. However, on the majority, Parmar won the election.

Party’s Strength

There are 61 BJP corporators in Mira Bhayandar including present MLA from Mira Bhayandar Geeta Jain. However, she and her one of the supporters Morris Rodrigues, have remained absent during the voting. Nevertheless, other rebellions have voted for BJP candidates, according to the sources. With the death of Shiv Sena group leader Harishchandra Amgaonkar due to COVID-19, the number of Sena corporators has gone down to 21. However, the Congress-led alliance have only 12 corporators.